German
You are here: Fortresses and castles

Nanstein Castle, Landstuhl

Nanstein Castle, Landstuhl

Nanstein Castle is the landmark of the Sickingen town of Landstuhl. It was built in 1150 by Emperor Frederick Barbarossa above a 15 meter high sandstone ledge. The fortress was part of the Hohenstaufen protections guarding the old imperial lands in the southwestern Palatinate. Nanstein Castle is first mentioned in a document in 1189. Franz von Sickingen modernized the medieval fortress in the 16th century and turned it into a "mountain castle" that was supposed to withstand the guns of the time. In 1523, in the so-called "Imperial Knights' War", the castle was shot to pieces and Franz von Sickingen, the "last knight", died there of his wounds.

His sons received the ruin back from the Electorate of the Palatinate as a feudal tenure in 1542 and immediately rebuilt it as a mighty Renaissance castle. In 1668 the fortifications were blown up upon the order of the Elector of the Palatinate. The castle contains architectural traces from five centuries.

In summer it serves as the stage for the castle festival Landstuhler Burgspiele.

Information: Touristinformation Sickingen tourism Landstuhl, phone: 06371/1300012

Perlenburg ruin, Bann

Perlenburg ruin, Bann

The Perlenburg on the Kleiner Berg (small hill) near Bann probably dates back to the 12th century. You can still make out some walls of a medieval fortress with its keep. The terrain was designated as an archaeological site in 1992.

Informaion: Touristinformation Sickingen tourism Landstuhl, phone: 06371/1300012

Frankenstein castle ruin, Frankenstein

Frankenstein castle ruin, Frankenstein

This Hohenstaufen castle ruin high above the Speyer brook was constructed in several phases in the 12th and 13th century. Together with the entrance of the railroad tunnel and the Frankenstein church, the ruin forms a romantic ensemble of red sandstone. Guided tours can be arranged by phone.

Information: Tourist office Enkenbach-Alsenborn, phone: 06303/913168

Diemerstein castle ruin, Diemerstein

Diemerstein castle ruin, Diemerstein

This ruin is located in a side valley near Frankenstein. The first nobleman of the Diemerstein castle was Rudegar von Diemarstein mentioned in a document in 1216. The castle was destroyed in the Thirty Years' War.

Information: Tourist office Enkenbach-Alsenborn, phone: 06303/913168

Baroque castle, Trippstadt

Baroque castle, Trippstadt

The castle was built between 1764 and 1767 by Baron Karl Josef Franz von Hacke. A particular feature of this building is a lightning rod, the first one in the entire Palatinate, which the owner had installed in 1776 by the local meteorologist, astronomer and physicist Jakob Hemmer. Today the castle houses the Rhineland Palatinate forest research institute.

Information: Tourist office Trippstadt, phone: 06306/341

Castle gardens, Trippstadt

Castle gardens, Trippstadt

The castle gardens originally showed a strictly geometrical design in the Versailles style and were larger than today. L. von Sckell later transformed them into an English landscape garden. A "tree path" running through the park leads you along the old stand of trees. Open year round.

Information: Tourist office Trippstadt, phone: 06306/341

Hohenecken castle, Kaiserslautern

Hohenecken castle, Kaiserslautern

The imperial castle "Honecken", first mentioned in 1212, was constructed for the protection of the imperial lands and the imperial palace. It was the seat of the dynasty of the estate officials of Hohenecken whose members rose to high office. In 1481 one quarter of the castle was sold to the Electorate of the Palatinate. In 1525, during the Peasants' War, it was ravaged by peasants.

Around 1560 the castle was expanded. Following disputes between the Hohenecken family and the Electorate, it was partially destroyed in 1668 and completely blown up by French troops in 1689 during the Palatine War of Succession. The ruins are one of the most impressive testimonies of Hohenstaufen architecture.

Information: Tourist office Kaiserslautern City, phone: 0631/3652317

Wilenstein castle, Trippstadt

Wilenstein castle, Trippstadt

The castle dates from around the 12th century, the time of Barbarossa. It was destroyed during the Thirty Years' War. Today you can still see some wall sections as well as remains of the massive keep. The "reconstructed" older castle houses a hostel.

Information: Tourist office Trippstadt, phone: 06306/341

Dieburg castle, Enkenbach-Alsenborn

Dieburg castle, Enkenbach-Alsenborn

The castle from the 12th century was erected close to the source of the Alsenz river at the edge of the village of Alsenborn. The remains of the castle are located on the present terrain of the outdoor swimming pool in Alsenborn.

Information: Tourist office Enkenbach-Alsenborn, phone: 06303/913168